Skip to Content

Published on April 20, 2016

Medical Centers Quality-Based Accredited by Det Norske Veritas Healthcare

Spartanburg Medical Center (SMC), Pelham Medical Center (PMC) and Union Medical Center (UMC), all divisions of Spartanburg Regional Healthcare System, are recognized by the National Integrated Accreditation for Healthcare Organizations (NIAHO) Hospital Accreditation Program.

Union Medical Center was accredited in late 2015 and Spartanburg Medical Center and Pelham Medical Center were accredited in early 2016.

As part of the accreditation process, surveyors visited the hospitals to monitor the hospitals’ adherence to patient safety and quality standards established by Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS). Surveyors also evaluated processes impacting patient care across various departments within each medical center.

This process helps the healthcare system improve standards and procedures, further elevating the quality of the healthcare system.

Being accredited by Det Norske Veritas (DNV) allows each hospital to receive reimbursement for patients covered by Medicare and Medicaid.

This accreditation will require an annual survey and the organization’s continual compliance with the DNV Healthcare Accreditation Process.

With the authority granted to DNV GL Healthcare USA, Inc. by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, and CMS, these three hospitals are compliant with the Medicare Conditions of Participation for Hospitals and was awarded full accreditation for a three-year term.

Was this page helpful?


Thank you for your feedback!

Thank you for your feedback and helping us to improve our website.
There will be no additional response.

Upcoming Events

Stay Connected!

Get the latest news on the health topics that matter most to you.  Sign up

Spartanburg Regional Fact Sheet

Learn more about the Spartanburg Regional Healthcare System.

Fact Sheet

Campus Map

Spartanburg Medical Center Campus Map

View map