Skip to Content

View Additional Section Content


Primary Stroke Certifications

Spartanburg Medical Center (SMC) and Pelham Medical Center (PMC), both divisions of Spartanburg Regional Healthcare System, are Primary Stroke Centers, accredited by the Healthcare Facilities Accreditation Program (HFAP).

In 2005, SMC was the first healthcare provider in SC to become certified as a Primary Stroke Center, and PMC was received accreditation in 2016 and was Greer’s first Primary Stroke Center. The certification serves as a standard for excellence in stroke care. It is based on quality-driven stroke protocols and processes to ensure patients receive timely and efficient care that fosters better outcomes. 

An HFAP Primary Stroke Center Certification is based on quality-driven stroke processes in the care program. The certification is based on evidence-based, nationally established standards. A certified stroke center allows patients to receive the best possible care from the time a stroke happens through recovery. Stroke centers have quality-guided protocols and processes in place to allow rapid identification and timely treatment of stroke, which help reduce disability.

The HFAP initiated the Primary Stroke Certification in 2006 using recommendations from the Brain Attack Coalition as the foundation for its standards. Moving forward, the HFAP has also endorsed the American Heart Association’s “Get with the Guidelines” tool for patient management and performance measuring.

The HFAP is one of only three national voluntary accreditation programs authorized by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) to survey hospitals for compliance with the Medicare Conditions of Participation and Coverage.

More on Stroke

Was this page helpful?


Thank you for your feedback!

Thank you for your feedback and helping us to improve our website.
There will be no additional response.

News & Highlights